I was really bored and sent some pictures of my self too http://nymodelingagents.com/
Just for fun really, I did not expect people like THEM to be interested.
Few days later.......
I get this..
Hi Reuben,
Thank you for your application. After reviewing your pics, we have decided
to call you for an Audition on Dec 13 2008 at 10:45am at the WESTIN HOTEL in
Kuala Lumpur, located at 199, Jalan Bukit Bintang . Make sure you bring
along some recent shots of yourself, or if you have a Portfolio, that
would be an asset. Make sure you do practice your Runway Walk and be
accompanied with a Parent if you a are under the age of 23 . Agents from
New York will be seeing you there. Please do reconfirm your attendance by
emailing us at confirmation@nymodelingagents.com and if the location or
dates does change, someone should call you or email u by Dec. 5, 2008. If
we do not receive your confirmation, your spot will be given to another
candidate.
Good Luck!
Connie Gervais
Senior Model Scout
NYMODELINGAGENTS.COM
228 Park Avenue West
NY 10003, USA
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Lol?
Now i have NEVER done modeling of any sort..
So i would not have a portfolio..
And neither do i know what a runway walk is.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So i replied this ;
Hello,
If i do not have a portfolio or am not sure HOW a to do a runway walk, As this is my first time.
Would that be a problem?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Few hours later.... I get a reply;
That is fine..... Bring in some recent pictures, and be confident. You will have top agents from New York viewing you.
So i wondering if this is legit.?
Any idea's guys?
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5 comments:
It looks dodgy to me, here's why:
* The domain was registered on the 4th November 2008 (http://www.who.is/whois-com/ip-address/nymodelingagents.com/), and the registrar is "FASTDOMAIN, INC." - this is not the behaviour of a reputable company.
* Almost none of the "Success stories" have their full names, also doesn't look serious.
* "Shawn K.", "Christian" and "Courtney F." are all listed as being signed with Click, LA - but if you check there, they are not listed with that agency (http://www.clickmodel.com/index.php?page=division&did=14)
* The 'Privacy policy' and 'Terms of Use' links at the bottom of the page are dead links.
* Why does the 'How it works' page say "Hope to see you in Malaysia!!!"? If it's an international, NY based company, that doesn't really make sense.
I would bet money it's a scam. If you do feel like going there - it could be interesting, but *don't* pay them any money or sign anything. If they are legitimate they will always be OK with you saying you're not sure and want to get back to them.
hi there.I came across your blog as i initially thought of applying for it as i'm interested in fashion modeling(came across an ad on facebook before and was prac jumping for joy-international agents frm top modeling agencies?coming to KL??no way!),and happened to come across 2 ppl who actually applied for it in Google search.(including u).lol.
however after i searched for it(nymodelingagents.com) in MSN.com,it didn't have any results!weird. after trying Google,it had results and i checked it out, and what Julian(above) has said was true- the "models" aren't even listed with the agency,and not only the privacy pol and terms of use ARE dead links, there was an "error" trying to get the app form to load no matter how many times i clicked!To me,this thingy's not even really written and publicized properly. I think you should double check with someone who would know a lil more about the industry as even I have a feeling it's a scam..do remember if ANY of 'em ask you to pay UPFRONT whatever it is,you can bet it it's DEF a scam. as agents who believe in you and is serious in signing you up would NOT in any way ask money frm you upfront, i've seen this advice on legitimate top modeling agencies' forum such as Ford models and Storm models.even magazines and stories written by models advice this. If you do wanna check it out tho,i'd suggest you bring a fren or a parent along.
it's tmr right? lemme know how it goes yea (if you're going) by email...am REALLY curious to know if this is legitimate. coz in a way it seems a lil too good to be true that agents frm international agencies are coming to KL for an audition.
thanks a bunch and lemme know.
Curious.
mizz_fizz06@hotmail.com
hmm, i Got the same email as well, i wont come for sure. ahhh hjust wasting my time
who actually go to the audition? can share ur experience?
What Julian say is truth. I meet those scams on 18 dec. I was appointed to be their photographer 2 week before the photo session which was schedule on 19 & 20 dec. They emailed to me on 14 dec telling that they arrived at Westin KL (with room no) and would like to met me the following day to see my work portfilo. I reply their email and call them several times but couldn't reach them. So I tought they were not interested on hiring me.
suddenly they call on 17 dec and within 2 hours they drop by to my studion and change the photo session date to 18 & 19 dec.
They promised there will be a total of 30 models. But only 6 of them turn up from penang, sabah and various states. Including 1 kids origin Ireland but stayed in Malaysia.
My team and I was told not to disscuss anything with their clients. Business ecthic.
But we did heard they had an argument with few models regarding their promised that the photographer and make up artist suppose to be from new york.
They handle it very well by producing our portfolios with various local and international artist photos.
Finally when the photo session end up on 19 dec, they only paid me 75% and they had collected full payment from all the talents.
2 days later we try to contact them but could not reach them. Finally the Ireland kid's mom (Mdm Asta) drop by in our studio. We explained and I did forward hiakz's blog, rinabusri blog and some other blogs related to them. Luckily I did take some of the agents photo and forward it as well.
The best part was even their website is GONE!!!
Pity to all those talents. Seems we don't have their contact no vice versa. We not sure wether they realise about this scam.
Guess how much they pay to these scammers?
Mdm Asta told me USD 1500.00 = RM 5700.00 roughly.
Hopefully the other talents happen to view this blog so that they knew regarding this matter. I'm helping Mdm Asta to make sure these scammers won't get away. We gonna spread out their photo through medias in New York assist by Mdm Asta's friend over there.
To all of you ladies and gentlement, please be very carefull and please share this information.
Thank you and very best of luck to all of you.
Regards,
I.J.
almaels@gmail.com
Post a Comment